“A deeply impressive new theatre company.” Time Out


HP14-37DEFIBRILLATOR is an award-winning London based company with a growing reputation for delivering inspiring and entertaining theatre in both conventional and non-theatre settings. With a history of bringing to life material that may have been forgotten, the company is increasingly developing and discovering new works from UK and international writers for audiences around the world.

Artistic Director – James Hillier
James established Defibrillator in 2011 and for the company has directed THE HOTEL PLAYS by Tennessee Williams at the Grange Hotel in Holborn in 2012 and at The Langham, London in 2014. His credits also include HARD FEELINGS by Doug Lucie, THE ARMOUR by Ben Ellis and INSIGNIFICANCE by Terry Johnson in New York. For film, he has directed a number of shorts, winning awards at Tribeca Film Festival in New York, Cannes Film Festival and SXSW. He trained at RADA and has worked extensively as an actor in theatre, film and television.

Executive Producer – Trish Wadley
Trish spent 20 years working internationally in Media as a journalist and Marketing Director before moving to theatre and has worked as Development Director of the Bush Theatre and Development consultant to the Tricycle Theatre. For Defibrillator she was Co-Producer on THE HOTEL PLAYS by Tennessee Williams (Grange Hotel, October 2012) and Executive Producer for HARD FEELINGS by Doug Lucie (Finborough, July 2013)  THE HOTEL PLAYS at The Langham Hotel in February 2014 and INSIGNIFICANCE by Terry Johnson in New York in 2016. Trish is a Stage One Bursary recipient and Director of The Uncertainty Principle – a theatre company established in both the UK and Australia – working with text and movement directors, developing Festival focused new works.